Packing: Part II

With my journey westward commencing in a few short days, I have begun to kick the preparations into high gear! I’m actually putting items into boxes and performing a triage to pare down what I’m bringing to an absolute minimum. It’s sort of a tough call, because I will be there for a year – but I’ll be in transition for much of that time. Still, I’d like to feel ‘at home’ at least while I’m on campus, and to do that, I need to have some of my stuff.

The good news is that I’m really only bringing one (big) suitcase of clothes, and a few other boxes. But with limited space, its important that everything I bring be something I NEED to have. I’m basically dealing with a ‘if you were going to a deserted island and you could only bring two things, what would they be.’ I’ve never cared for those questions, because while they’re supposed to say something about your personality, I always try to be practical. We’re planning to listen to Hatchet by Gary Paulsen on the drive out west, so maybe that will get me in the mood. That was one of my favorite books when I was growing up!

This little exercise of packing for AmeriCorps, particularly blogging about it, is reminiscent of The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien. It’s a book about a group of soldiers during the Vietnam War and the various items, feelings, and memories that they carried with them. I’m bringing a lot of physical things with me, but I’m also bringing my emotions and experiences.

I’m definitely carrying some nerves, excitement, and a whole lot of passion for my work with this program. I’m already passionate about AmeriCorps NCCC before it has even begun. Community Service programs like AmeriCorps may be a lot of work, but it’s a work of heart! I’m carrying a real sense of pride in my country, in the work that we will be doing in NCCC, and in myself for the opportunity to serve. I really do feel fortunate that I was offered the position, and that I was in a good place in my life to accept! Some things in my life just feel right, and this is absolutely one of them. I can hardly wait to get started.

So, I’m packing today, Friday. I have lot of other plans Saturday and Sunday that will preclude me from packing activities. Monday evening I have a farewell dinner planned, and then Tuesday I leave!

Leave a comment